Skip to main content

A bit of history

Published on
24 October 2021

It has been 10 years since the first edition of the X-Pyr in 2012.

And it will be the fifth edition of the race, although the 5th should have been in 2020, but COVID prevented it.

Starting in 2012, when, as always thereafter, the race left Hondarribia for the first time.
With 14 teams that dared to start the race and into the madness of crossing the Pyrenees from coast to coast. Until finishing in El Port de la Selva, a week later, it was a real sprint between the first two, Iñigo Gabiria and Iván Colás.

To the last edition, in 2018. With an incredible route: longer, more complicated… wonderful participants, and a challenge that is growing edition after edition. And, of course, the dominance of Chrigel Maurer since his first win in 2014.

From then until now, things changed. The organisation, the participants, the race itself.

But we still keep the original essence: we are a group of hike & fly enthusiasts who want others to be passionate about what we love the most.

If we have aroused your curiosity about the previous editions, take a look at the summary we have prepared.

Without them, the X-Pyr wouldn't exist.

Our thanks to:

Main Partners




Are you interested in sponsoring us?

Subscribe and get race info
Contact us
X-Pyr | The pyreneean challenge
© X-Pyr | The pyreneean challenge. All rights reserved.